It is an outdoor monument. The construction consists of a total of 75 arches. The aqueduct was built in Roman style in 1746 by the Turkish governor of Larnaca Bekir Pasha, who funded it from his own sources to transport water to Larnaca from a spring about 10 kilometers away. The aqueduct was abandoned in 1939 and replaced by modern pipelines. The aqueduct operated until the British occupation in 1939. Today the whole district around the area where the building is located was named "Kamares". The aqueduct is an ornament to the city of Larnaca and part of its rich history. Particularly impressive at night is the illumination of the Kamares visible from the main road Larnaca - Limassol.